U.S. to Lift Travel Restrictions on Eight Southern African Nations Over Omicron Variant


The US is to lift travel restrictions it imposed on eight southern African nations over a new coronavirus strain.

The White House said the 29 November measure, affecting South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini and Malawi, would be lifted by New Year’s Eve.

The official said the curbs were no longer necessary amid a US explosion of cases of the Omicron variant.

The variant now makes up most of all new US cases.

“The restrictions gave us time to understand Omicron and we know our existing vaccines work against Omicron, esp boosted,” tweeted White House assistant press secretary Kevin Munoz.

Click here to read more.


When you purchase a book below it supports the Number #1 Black Christian Newspaper BLACK CHRISTIAN NEWS NETWORK ONE (BCNN1.com) and it also allows us to spread the Gospel around the world.