Elon Musk to Unveil SpaceX’s New Starship Design

An artist’s illustration of SpaceX’s Starship spacecraft separating from its Super Heavy rocket.
(Image: © SpaceX)

It’s that time again.

Elon Musk will unveil the latest design of SpaceX’s Starship Mars-colonization architecture tonight (Sept. 28) during a presentation at the company’s South Texas facilities, near the village of Boca Chica.

The talk, which will occur at 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT, 0000 GMT), will be streamed live online. You can watch it live here at start time, as well as on Space.com’s homepage. You can watch the livestream directly from SpaceX here.

The billionaire entrepreneur has given such an update every September since 2016. Much has changed since then, including the architecture’s name, which shifted from the Interplanetary Transport System to the BFR to the current moniker, Starship and Super Heavy.

Then there’s size. Musk said in 2017 that the BFR will stand 348 feet (106 meters) tall. But in the tweaked design he revealed last year, the system had grown to a towering 387 feet (118 m).

The basic design concept has held firm, however: a two-stage system that consists of a passenger-carrying vehicle (Starship in the latest iteration) stacked atop a huge rocket (Super Heavy). Both elements will be fully and rapidly reusable, Musk has said.

Starship and Super Heavy will both be powered by SpaceX’s next-generation Raptor engine. The stainless-steel, 100-passenger ship will have six Raptors, whereas the first-stage rocket will boast 35 of the engines.

Click here to read more.
Source: Space