Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Removes Stained-Glass Windows Honoring Paige Patterson, Frank Page, Paul Pressler, and Other Christian Leaders

Stained-glass windows at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary immortalizing leaders of the conservative resurgence within the Southern Baptist Convention have been removed.

The Fort Worth, Texas-based seminary confirmed that the stained-glass windows depicting the likes of former SWBTS President Paige Patterson and other controversial conservative Southern Baptist leaders have been taken down from the J.W. MacGorman Chapel and Performing Arts Center.

Colby Adams, the school’s vice president for strategic initiatives and chief of staff, told The Alabama Baptist that the school is “working with donors to finalize plans for relocating the windows.”

“After much prayerful consideration and discussion, we have concluded that it is in the best interest of the institution to remove and relocate the stained-glass windows installed in our J.W. MacGorman Chapel and Performing Arts Center,” SWBTS Board of Trustees Chairman Kevin Ueckert wrote in a letter dated April 3, according to the newspaper.

“Expenses to remove the windows are minimal and will be covered by the seminary. … The seminary will [safely] store the windows until we have a chance to discuss with you the next steps.”

Along with Patterson, who stepped down as SWBTS president last year after he was accused of mishandling rape allegations brought to him by students, two other controversial leaders featured in the windows are Paul Pressler and Frank S. Page.

Pressler is a former Texas judge who was accused in a lawsuit last year of sexual assault. Pressler denied the allegations and the case was later dropped because the statute of limitations had expired.

Page is the former CEO and president of the Southern Baptist Convention’s executive committee. But he resigned last year citing an inappropriate relationship.

Others depicted in the stained glass windows include California megachurch pastor and author Rick Warren, Liberty University founder Jerry Falwell, former SBC presidents W.A. Criswell, Adrian Rogers, Charles Stanley, Ed Young and Ronnie Floyd. Floyd was recently elected to serve as the new SBC executive committee president.

Click here to read more.

SOURCE: Christian Post, Samuel Smith