SBC President Fred Luter Names Members of the Committee on Resolutions for 2014 Annual Meeting

The Reverend Fred Luter Jr.
The Reverend Fred Luter Jr.

SBC President Fred Luter has named the members of the Committee on Resolutions for the June 10-11 Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in Baltimore.

Luter, pastor of Franklin Avenue Baptist Church in New Orleans, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

Luter named David Dykes of Texas as committee chairman. Dykes is pastor of Green Acres Baptist Church in Tyler.

The other committee members, in alphabetical order, are:

— Whitney Alexander, homemaker, member of First Baptist Church, Gadsden, Ala.

— Matthew Arbo, assistant professor of Christian ethics, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary; member, Redeemer Fellowship, Kansas City, Mo.

— Greg Belser, pastor, Morrison Heights Baptist Church, Clinton, Miss.

— Roger Freeman, pastor, Grace Baptist Church, Nashville.

— Matthew Hall, vice president of academic services, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky.; member, Clifton Baptist Church, Louisville.

— Chris Osborne, senior pastor, Central Baptist Church, College Station, Texas.

— Ramon Osorio, national church mobilizer, North American Mission Board, Alpharetta, Ga.; member, First Redeemer Church, Cumming, Ga.

— Jay F. Shell, attorney; member of West Baptist Church, Batesville, Ark.

— Kevin Smith, assistant professor of Christian preaching, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky.; pastor, Watson Memorial Baptist Church, Louisville.

Click here to read more.

SOURCE: Baptist Press

When you purchase a book below it supports the Number #1 Black Christian Newspaper BLACK CHRISTIAN NEWS NETWORK ONE ( and it also allows us to spread the Gospel around the world.