SBC Presidential Search Committee Elects Officers and Asks for Prayer

The presidential search committee elected yesterday (April 17) to nominate the next chief executive of the Southern Baptist Convention Executive Committee used its first meeting to select officers and begin laying groundwork in prayer to receive recommendations.

“In a few weeks we will be releasing an email address through which we will be receiving recommendations,” said search committee chairman Steve Swofford, pastor of First Baptist Church in Rockwall, Texas. “In the meantime, we will be gathering information and putting together a profile of what we feel like we are looking for.”

Carol Yarber, a retired medical administrator from Athens, Texas, was elected secretary at the search committee’s April 17 meeting, which convened immediately following a special called EC meeting in Nashville. The search committee “may elect a vice chairman at a later meeting,” Swofford said in a statement released to Baptist Press.

The six-member committee, elected from a field of 18 nominees, will be joined in an ex officio capacity by the next EC chairman when he or she is elected in June, as stipulated by EC bylaws. The new EC chair will be a voting member of the search committee.

Current EC chairman Stephen Rummage was elected to the search committee and therefore is not serving in an ex officio capacity. He will continue serving on the search committee when his term as EC chairman ends.

Click here to read more.
Source: Baptist Press